Surviving a Flare

I am having a pain flare at the moment – feeling lousy and really exhausted. Last time I had a bad flare I considered what I needed to do to get through and decided to put together a Flare Survival Kit ready to go when I needed it. Because one of the things you can be sure of  with CRPS is that a flare will recur. It is important to bear in mind when having a flare though “it is what it is” and the fact that it certainly happens, with some regularity, putting together this kit is an attempt at normalising rather than catastrophising the flare.

Over the past few days it has been a bonus not to have to look for or think about what would help.

The things that I got together in the kit:

Distractions –
iPad – my favourite are cryptic crosswords, scrabble and riddle apps
Journal and pens
a novel ( one I know I will like – if I am truthful I have three on hand)
planner
blog ideas book
creative writing prompt cards
Foxtel and dvds
relaxing music CDs
Comfort clothes – last year I was lucky enough to find a couple of pair of pyjamas that are so soft that you can hardly feel them against the skin. I purchased two pairs so I am keeping one pair specifically for pain flare day(s). A really soft blanket that my friend knitted for me is a must in this cold weather, as are soft, fluffy socks.
Motivation – I have always been a fan of decks of motivational cards. I have a couple of packs that are favourites so these went. I find when I get to a point where I think I can’t do it any more that these remind me that I can keep going with a few little gentle reminders and affirmations.
Sustenance:
bottled water
chocolate
cups of tea
Skin care – with CRPS the skin is very sensitive to even the slightest touch. During a flare this symptom can be exacerbated. However the skin dries out dreadfully. So even though it can be very painful to apply moisturiser is an important component of the kit. Both face and body moisturiser are included.

Noise reduction: when the pain is particularly bad any noise at all can be unpleasant and uncomfortable. Ear plugs are a can’t be without.
Are there other things that you think I should have on hand for times like this?

2 thoughts on “Surviving a Flare

  1. Great idea Anne to be well prepared but to be honest I am in awe of you being able to handle a cryptic crossword when you are flaring. I can bear lyrics put a constructive thought together much less do a cryptic cross word without throwing the book or iPad across the room. I have got to…it is what it is…but as for concentrating..I have a long way to.go. I need to.get beyond do just existing in tough times but I have no kit for that unfortunately.

    Like

  2. jeanette I agree with you sometimes I can’t always concentrate but these things are there to help with distractions when I can…sometimes its just about getting through the day minute by minute…….and the way my mind works I find cryptics help with distraction.

    Like

Leave a comment